Bicentennial Youth Debaters

Representing Arkansas at the regional Bicentennial Youth Debates to be held April 8-10 at Truman Library in Independence, Mo. will be two Fayetteville High School seniors and two students at the University of Arkansas. Left to right are Aaron Karp and Jeff Hobbs of FHS and Candy Clark of Fayetteville and Jim Jones of Little Rock, students at the UA. They are holding trophies won by the UA Inter-collegiate Forensic team in recent tournaments. (Northwest Arkansas Times, 1976)

— Courtesy of Jeff Hobbs

Debate Team Winners

Teams from Fayeteville took top spots in all three divisions of debate at the 16th annual Southwestern Speech and Debate tournament held Friday and Saturday at Monett High School, with 26 schools entered in the events and 38 teams competing in championship, 46 in regular and 36 in novice. Fayetteville also won the debate sweepstakes, with Jefferson City taking second and Kickapoo placing third. Over 300 students participated in Saturday’s events, with individual events held all day Friday. Members of the Fayetteville teams taking first place trophies include first row, from left, Kay Adams, novice, and Nancy Hamm and Nancy Pennington, regular, and back row, Kym DeLille, novice, and Dennis Peterson and Jeff Hobbs, championship, shown with Diane Koenmann, MHS student chairman of the event. (Monette Times)

— Courtesy of Jeff Hobbs

Poetry in the Schools

PDF of “Poems”

During the 1975-76 school year, university students in the creative writing program at the University of Arkansas taught elementary and secondary students across the state about poetry and various approaches to writing poems. The outreach program was known at Poetry in the Schools, or PITS for short.

From the writing, several poems from each school were chosen for publication, including more than a dozen written by seniors in the Class of 76. The attached PDF only contains the forward, introduction and poetry from FHS and the PitStop School in Fayetteville.

Today, the program is known as Writers in the Schools, or WITS, and continues to foster creative writing in schools across the state.

Student Council Officers


Officers for the coming year were named by the Student Council at Fayetteville High School shortly before school dismissed for the summer. New officers are front row (l. to r.) Don Carter, president and Lynn Walker, secretary. Back row (l. to r.) Sam Pitts, vice president, J.D. Hobbs, treasurer and Jeff Thomas, reporter. (TIMESphoto by Ken Good)

— Courtesy of Jeff Hobbs

Magic Show


In spring 1976 and spring 1977, Phil Goff, Hugh Painter and Charlie Alison presented magic shows at the Fayetteville High School Student Center with assistance from Susan Painter and Allison Rodman. Don Carter provided audio, lighting and technical expertise.