Bicentennial Youth Debaters

Representing Arkansas at the regional Bicentennial Youth Debates to be held April 8-10 at Truman Library in Independence, Mo. will be two Fayetteville High School seniors and two students at the University of Arkansas. Left to right are Aaron Karp and Jeff Hobbs of FHS and Candy Clark of Fayetteville and Jim Jones of Little Rock, students at the UA. They are holding trophies won by the UA Inter-collegiate Forensic team in recent tournaments. (Northwest Arkansas Times, 1976)

— Courtesy of Jeff Hobbs


Debate Team Winners

Teams from Fayeteville took top spots in all three divisions of debate at the 16th annual Southwestern Speech and Debate tournament held Friday and Saturday at Monett High School, with 26 schools entered in the events and 38 teams competing in championship, 46 in regular and 36 in novice. Fayetteville also won the debate sweepstakes, with Jefferson City taking second and Kickapoo placing third. Over 300 students participated in Saturday’s events, with individual events held all day Friday. Members of the Fayetteville teams taking first place trophies include first row, from left, Kay Adams, novice, and Nancy Hamm and Nancy Pennington, regular, and back row, Kym DeLille, novice, and Dennis Peterson and Jeff Hobbs, championship, shown with Diane Koenmann, MHS student chairman of the event. (Monette Times)

— Courtesy of Jeff Hobbs