Promotion of Black Students

Front row, from left: Jo Ann Lackey (reporter), Cathy Carr (secretary), Tommie Flowers (treasurer), Pam Miller (president), Belinda Blackburn (vice-president), Angela Childress (service chair). Second row: Vicki Thomason, Darlene West, Sheryl Mahone, Thomas Carr, Theo Thomason, Donna Hammilton, Nina Rolloff. Back row: Madalyn Brown, Lisa Buchanan, Judy Mahone, Ray Thompson, Henry Childress (historian), Michael Buchanan, Mrs. Betty Smith (sponsor).
Lisa Buchanan plays records for the PBS Christmas party.

In its second year at FHS, Promotion of Black Students adopted as its year-long project fundraising for the fight against sickle cell anemia. Sponsored by Mrs. Betty Smith, history teacher, the group also sought money for a scholarship for a senior.

Social functions included a dance and fashion show with clothes provided by participating merchants. Proceeds from a soul food dinner went to the sickle cell anemia drive. Prior to Easter, the club took day-care children on an egg hunt.

Mrs. Betty Smith tries a new approach at teaching American history through simulation games.
Mrs. Betty Smith tries a new approach at teaching American history through simulation games.

“I like being in PBS,” said Jo Ann Lackey, “because it helps other people out and it makes you feel like you’ve accomplished something.”

—1976 Amethyst


Front row, from left: Marian Crum (sponsor), Simone Killian, Glen Berry, Kim White, Laura McGoodwin, Candy Treat, Rachel Skoney (secretary), Teresa Fields (president), Judy Goff, Becky Segers, Cristine Wolf, Nina Rolloff, Mike Bihn, Van Bennett, Brian Holt, Rick Turner, Marc Riviere. Second row: Debbie Adam, Betsy Stewart, Sheryl Willis, Mohini Chatrothi, Sylvia Blyholder, Kris Chatrothi, Brian Haring, Michael Simpson, Charles Alison, Jeff Hobbs, Mike Brooks, Becky Thomas, Patty Gannon, Jim Beavers, Michael Rudko, Pam Sills, Mark Rupert, Bob Storey. Third row: Terri Kirk, Nancy Pennington, Nancy Hamm, B.L. Lancaster, Alan Solis, Sadhana Mishra, Allison Level, Pam Taylor, Tommie Flowers, Sara Skinner, Georgia Buckley, Kelle Green, Lisa Wallis, Jerry Paulissen, David Cordes, George Alison, Kirk Walters, Johnny Hulett, Janet Roberts. Back Row: Jennifer Desmarais, Katherine Edman, Patricia Ammons, Melissa Teas, Jessica Lowe, Lisa Flynn, Mary Sekiguchi, Gina Turner, Laurie Leonard, Mary Laney, Carolyn Reilly, Sandra Glass, Carolyn Davis, Barbara Leeton, John Stephens, Billy Ourand, Steven Yancey, Marc McGuire, Janet Drake.

According to some of its members, Mu Alpha theta existed “to promote interest in math,” “to help someone get a scholarship,” “to get mathematicians together for business and fun,” “to look good on your transcript.”

Superintendent Harry Vandergriff along with Teresa Fields, president, congratulates Carolyn Davis after her initiation into Mu Alpha Theta.

But in the eyes of Mu Alpha Theta sponsor, Mrs. Marian Crum, the club was organized “to recognize and encourage outstanding work or scholarship in mathematics.”

At the annual Christmas part, Barbara Leeton was crowned “Sprouts” champion. “Sprouts” is a complicated dot-to-dot game of skill, logic and a bit of luck.

On the agenda for Mu Alpha Theta members in ’75-’76 was a field trip to Tulsa to visit the American Airlines Maintenance Center and Oral Roberts University. The group received reduced rates on Texas Instruments calculators, purchased a new calculator for the advanced math classes and attended the national convention in West Chester, Pennsylvania.

Libby Stewart and Hee-Young Kim enjoy refreshments after the initiation.
Libby Stewart and Hee-Young Kim enjoy refreshments after the initiation.